The current Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum (EYFS) is composed of 7 Areas of Learning:
3 Prime Areas.

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development
The 3 Prime Areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.
Practitioners working with the youngest children focus strongly on the three prime areas, which are the basis for successful learning in the other four specific areas.
4 Specific Areas



Understanding of the world

Expressive Arts and Design

The balance shifts towards a more equal focus on all areas of learning as children grow in confidence and ability within the three prime areas.

Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity
As children grow older, and as their development allows, the balance moves towards more activities led by adults.