A happy and healthy, well fed and rested child is what we aim to grow.
Only this kind of child will be ready to learn.

Only a child who feels safe and secure and who senses that the people around them truly care for them will be ready to take the risks that are involved in being a learner.

Every day our children encounter a dozen brand new experiences and seem to take it all in their stride. If they do, it’s because the essential ground work has been done by their families and their Key Person working together.

Our Approach

Someone once described us as magpies, shamelessly taking wonderful shiny ideas from the whole of life and weaving them together to help create a magical and exciting world for the children in our care.

We are not purists about how we teach unless we feel that purity lends a certain quality that is better suited to some children. Heuristic Play for example should be carried out in a reduced language environment, however, some of the same processes involved, namely discovery within the sensory and physical world can be transferred to other areas of the nursery or pre-school.

Dr Maria Montessori’s writings about the importance of promoting children’s independence lie at the heart of our work. However, we do not wish to deliver the Montessori programme solely as there are so many exciting methods we can reach out to that will help us meet our  company aims.

Effective Learning

The teaching of Maths and Literacy are certainly not confined to table top activity or adult led session, although this does happen and the children love it. In fact, we are debating the need for a specific Mathematics area at all as Maths is not a type of play but we do need somewhere to logically store our very well resourced maths equipment so it stays for the time being.

Sticky Learning

Our Continuous Provision exists in order that children can arrive at the start of the session, and without needing too much from the adults, get stuck into sticky learning..

..You know, the kind of learning that never leaves you.


The current Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum (EYFS) is composed of 7 Areas of Learning:

3 Prime Areas.

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The 3 Prime Areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

Practitioners working with the youngest children focus strongly on the three prime areas, which are the basis for successful learning in the other four specific areas.

4 Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The balance shifts towards a more equal focus on all areas of learning as children grow in confidence and ability within the three prime areas.

Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity.

As children grow older, and as their development allows, the balance moves towards more activities led by adults.